Zahra
2 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Rich girl having rich girl problems

Randomly picked this up second hand without too many expectations and it was, erm, interesting . Also the cover looked edgy, so there's that. To be honest, the cover should have been a clue that I probably wouldn't like this book so that's on me.

My year of rest and relaxation follows a rich girl going through a depression and slowly on the path to self destruction. The protagonist of the story narrates her privileged life, flitting between her family life and upbringing complete with a reclusive, distant father and alcoholic mother whose heart is stone cold, to her life at present where she is spiralling out of control, further into depression and loneliness.

Whilst I occasionally enjoyed the cynical dark humour of the book, the story itself wasn’t really my cup of tea. It all felt a bit self indulgent and just didn’t feel like it was a story that had any substance to it. It just felt like reading about a privileged rich girl having privileged rich girl problems. I don’t particularly enjoy reading stories that revolve around characters that have no real meaning and purpose to their life, remicient of how Sally Rooney’s Normal People made me feel. To be fair, I’m just not the intended demographic for this book and that’s ok. The psychiatrist character made me laugh though.

Overall, it was a bit meh, but that’s just me

--

--

Zahra

Books. Islam. Politics. Motherhood. IG @readsabouttown